When children come to the Child Advocacy Center, a Child Victim Advocate greets them with a smile and a snack.  After each interview, the Child Victim Advocate helps make the child feel safe and comfortable again as they select a special keepsake toy and leave their handprint on one of the Center’s many canvases.  This Advocate stays with each child’s case every step of the way and serves as the family’s point of contact until services are no longer needed by the abused child or their caregiver.

Child Victim Advocates assist children and non-offending caregivers in being informed and prepared for what happens next during investigations, prosecutions and treatment.  Advocates stays in touch with the professionals working the cases and link families with the services necessary to meet their basic needs, are there to provide emotional support and walk each family through the court process if and when this is needed.

Agency Collaboration

The Child Advocacy Center works with the following partner agencies on child abuse cases.
CAC Core Agencies
Alachua County Sheriff’s Office- http://www.alachuasheriff.org
Department of Children and Families- http://www.dcf.state.fl.us
Gainesville Police Department- https://www.gainesvillepd.org
Guardian Ad Litem Program- http://www.guardianadlitem.org
Meridian Behavioral Healthcare, Inc- http://www.mbhci.org
Partnership for Strong Families- https://www.pfsf.org
State Attorney’s Office- http://www.sao8.org
UF/Child Protection Team- http://www.hscj.ufl.edu/pediatrics/child-protection

CAC Partners

Alachua County Health Unit- http://www.doh.state.fl.us/chdalachua
Alachua County Schools- http://www.sbac.edu
Alachua County Victim Services- http://www.alachuacounty.us/DEPTS/CSS/VICTIMSERVICES/Pages/VictimServices.aspx
Alachua Police Department- http://www.cityofalachua.com/index.php/police-department
Children’s Home Society- http://www.chsfl.org/Home
CDS Family and Behavioral Health Services- http://www.cdsfl.org
Department of Juvenile Justice- http://www.djj.state.fl.us
High Springs Police Department- http://highsprings.us/site/city-departments/police-department.html
Office of the Attorney General- http://myfloridalegal.com
Peaceful Paths- http://www.peacefulpaths.org
Shands/UF/Social Work- http://socialservices.sites.medinfo.ufl.edu
Waldo Police Department- http://www.waldo-fl.com/waldopolice.htm